Year of questions: Should your passion pay your bills?

I’m constantly reading about people who do the startup thing or make the decision to turn their passion into a full time job.

Since I work a pretty regular job, it’s something I think about a lot. I like the freedom of having a job with a steady paycheck, it allows me to do what I love outside of work without being dependent on it to pay the bills.

But I do have moments where it feels monotonous and I wonder if the tradeoff is worth it. I work with nice people, and like the clients I work with as well, but beyond the sense of accomplishment that comes with a job well done I’m not sure it has a concrete impact on my life.

What’s the advantage to paying your bills with a “standard job” versus making your passion your main job?

One thought on “Year of questions: Should your passion pay your bills?”

Leave a Reply

