Year of questions: Why do some people apologize too much and others not at all?

I’ve been a little slack on the daily questions, going to try to fill in some of the missing days soon (I write a lot of them down before posting them here) but wanted to post today’s question first.

Taking a walk the other morning through the Bosque (that’s the name for basic underbrush & forest in the floodplain of the Rio Grande) I noticed a runner jogging towards me. When he was fairly close I stepped to the side and as he was going by he said “Sorry about that, thanks.”

To be honest I do that all the time. Shoot first apologize later is something I’m only learning to do strategically at age 28 after years of apologizing for all manner of things. I’m more confused by people on  the opposite of the spectrum. For example, on the bus a few weeks ago the driver missed a stop and apologized to a rider, who proceeded to berate him and said “I pressed the button, what the hell is wrong with you.”

That kind of entitled attitude I just don’t understand, people in that headspace seem to believe the whole world needs to happen the way they want it to. And when it doesn’t they can’t deal.

One thought on “Year of questions: Why do some people apologize too much and others not at all?”

Leave a Reply

