Year of questions: Are we biologically inclined to lie?

 

You tell lies, and if you say you don’t then you probably tell more than anyone.

I know this because I tell lies too. Generally they’re pretty small and I catch myself quickly. I don’t have any major lies in my life because I’ve made a practice of catching myself on the little things.

I don’t believe in being perfect, I believe in being honest. To me, living a hypocrisy free life means having the humility to admit that at times I conceal the truth, even from myself.

But it makes me wonder: why do we lie, and often on small things where there is no obvious reward?

Is there some protective instinct involved? Can we really “not handle the truth?”

Leave a Reply

