From Mom: A dialogue in the underworld

One of my favorite pieces of writing by my mom…

Hayat (Mom’s Sufi name): Sister, I am afraid. My roots are weak.

Sister: Hayat you know what is needed for making strong roots. Courage to make that change is what you resist.

Hayat: I have invested so much time, energy and money in my education and it is hard to give up on the academic life. I need a product that honors all the effort.

Sister: Beware the extremes. It is not all or nothing. If there was value to the experience then it is in you and like a seed, will germinate and grow in its own time.

Hayat: I am tired of lectures and writing and my hands hurt.

Sister: You must finish

Hayat: Ok. But there has to be a reward at the end of it all.

Sister: Remember your roots. Water and feed them well and your branches will not crack and leaves wither. The soil is of utmost importance. Rich soil leads to rich soul. “As above so below.”

One thought on “From Mom: A dialogue in the underworld”

Leave a Reply

